Creation of Te Aupōuri Single Iwi Authority

In 2004 Te Aupōuri began working towards the development of a Single Iwi Authority to meet the needs of Te Aupōuri by incorporating all of Te Aupōuri‘s commercial and cultural interests and allowing Te Aupōuri to speak with one voice as well as acting as the post-settlement governance entity for Te Aupōuri. This work was commenced by Te Hononga but following the establishment of Te Aupōuri Fisheries Trust as the mandated iwi organisation under the Māori Fisheries Act 2004, this work was taken over by the Te Aupōuri negotiators. Over the years four series of consultation hui took place around New Zealand to seek the views of the Te Aupōuri people regarding the structure they wanted for their iwi and to enable a proposal to be developed.

In June and July 2010 a series of information hui to release the proposed structure were held in New Zealand and Australia followed by a hui at Potahi Marae on 24 July 2010 to confirm the key elements of the proposal to go to a postal ballot. The feedback received during the information hui, the resolutions made at the hui to confirm key components and feedback received from Te Ohu Kaimoana and the Office of Treaty Settlements were then incorporated into a final proposal. The final proposal was endorsed by the Crown on 9 November 2010 and by a majority of 97% the members of Te Aupōuri approved the governance entity through a postal ballot in November to December 2010. Elections for the seven elected Trustees to serve alongside three transition trustees representing the existing Te Aupōuri entities took place in February to March 2011.

The initial trustees of Te Rūnanga Nui o Te Aupōuri Trust were the three transition trustees: Andrew Ihaka (representing Te Aupōuri Fisheries Trust), Hugh Karena (representing the Te Aupōuri Negotiators) and Sue Ellis (representing the Aupouri Maori Trust Board) and the seven elected trustees: Tui Kapa, Peter-Lucas Jones, Ebony Duff, Maahia Nathan, Louise Mischewski, Raymond Subritzky and Waitai Petera. The inaugural meeting of the Trustees of the Te Rūnanga Nui o Te Aupōuri Trust took place on the date that the election results were announced – 12 March 2011.

All of the initial trustees remain in office (with the exception of Andrew Ihaka who resigned as transition trustee on 26 April 2011 and Sue Ellis who resigned as transition trustee on 8 August 2011).